The building located near 136th and Center Road, formerly school district 5, aka the Wieseman School, still stands for now. Plans to demolish it are in the works. PCN photo by Beth Sparrow.
The building located near 136th and Center Road, formerly school district 5, aka the Wieseman School, still stands for now. Plans to demolish it are in the works. PCN photo by Beth Sparrow.
Unfortunately for the school district number 5 building, it is set to be demolished in the coming weeks. This building opened in 1905 with the Valley’s first school teacher, Mrs. Nellie Benson. Originally there were 47 pupils in the school. At one time Mrs. Benson’s class of 22 students went to Genoa to visit the Indian School. They traveled by team and wagon for 20 miles. She also took 22 student…